Spatial Stories

11Sep11

As part of my course, the Miniature and the Mobile, our first assignment was De Carteaus’ Spatial Stories.  My response reflects on my morning commute, using De Carteau’s terminology:

Along the tour, the organized movements of my car bypass many landmarks.  The first of these is a farm I pass on my right.  Then, an unnecessary stop sign ahead brings me to a halt (unless I’m in a hurry).  Another static “stop” is at the end of my road, and I then turn left.  On a map, this would be Route 57 but to me it’s just the familiar path that leads to Hackettstown proper.  My home, although considered Hackettstown, stands outside the town limits in a very quiet township.  My tour continues through town until I reach East Avenue, the bridge that transitions me from my county to the next.  It crosses over the river, which serves as a boundary between both counties and towns – the place in which I reside and the space that contains the town I work in.

I follow the route towards the Interstate, which brings me through various frontiers represented by their exit signs, most of which I’ve never visited – they only serve as the space between my home and office.  At times, when I’m feeling particularly tired and bored, I wish I was traveling on the various metaphorai that surround me, particularly, Lackland Bus which stops right outside my office.  Yet, my car is my home for that hour every day, my place of comfort that travels with me.

Eventually the highway brings me to my place of work, at Exit 42C.  Only a short bridge between the interstate and my destination is the space between, which shows a florist on the left, Dunkin Donuts on the right (one of many on the journey), and other offices that are someone else’s daily destination.  Once I pull into the parking lot, crossing the boundary into my lieu, the place I stay about as many hours as I am home, I’ve finally reached my destination. And after 8 or so hours, the tour is reversed.

 

No Responses Yet to “Spatial Stories”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

